Slovakia Guide

slovakia Slovakia, also known as the Slovak Republic, is a European country, landlocked, which has a population of five million people and a total surface area of around 49,000 sq. km. Slovakia has as neighbors the countries of Poland, Hungary, Austria, Czech Republic and Ukraine. Bratislava is the capital of Slovakia and also the biggest city. Kosice is the second biggest city of the country. A member of the EU, Slovakia also takes part in UN, NATO, UNESCO, WTO and OECD, among many other organizations.

Slovakia is currently a Slavic country, mainly due to the Slav invasions in the 5th and 6th century, when they were migrating. In its history, Slovakia’s territory belonged to a number of different empires, like the Habsburg Empire, Hungary, Great Morabia, Austro-Hungarian Empire, Czechoslovakia and Samo’s Empire. Slovakia was independent for the first time during the second world war, between 1939 and 1944, when they were Germany’s dependency. In 1993, Slovakia became independent once again, on January 1st, exiting the federation it had with the Czechs.

They have a high income economy and they’re considered to be very fast growing, compared with the other countries of the European Union. Slovakia is a member of the EU since 2004, and they joined the Eurozone in 2009. Slovenia and Slovakia are currently the only ex communist countries that are part of NATO, Eurozone, European Union and the Schengen Area at the same time.

Slovakia has a geography dominated mostly by mountains, the country’s northern area being dominated by the Carpathian Mountains. The Tatra Mountains are one of these mountain ranges and the tallest point is 2,655m high. The major rivers of Slovakia are the Danube, Hron and Vah.

The weather in Slovakia is somewhere between the continental and temperate weather zone, having warm summers and cold and cloudy winters.

Photo credit: symmetry_mind on Flickr